Southern Studies

Subject Specific Databases

America: History and Life

- Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Black freedom struggle in the 20th century.

Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective

- Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle I&II

Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

In the First Person

- A free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives (letters, diaries, memoirs, oral histories, autobiographies) in English from around the world. 

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

MLA International Bibliography

- Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

SocINDEX with Full Text

- Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Share this
No votes yet
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: