Sociology

Subject Specific Databases

ebrary Psychology and Social Work Collection

- Collection of cross-referenced, full-text searchable e-books focusing on Psychology and Social Work.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Ethnic NewsWatch

- Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America

Full Text        Tutorial Available

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index

- Indexes journals about Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the US

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

ICPSR

- The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research is the world largest collection of digital social science data. Topics covered include sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

LexisNexis Academic

- Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

- Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Medline (via Ebsco)

- National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

NCJRS Abstracts

- Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Roper Center For Public Opinion Research

Collection of poll data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

SocINDEX with Full Text

- Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Related, Multidisciplinary and General Databases

  • - Premier source for articles in psychology. Provides access to articles in 2,450 scholarly journals in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Also includes books, book chapters, and dissertations.

  • - Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

  • - Citations of items listed in the table of contents pages of journals from all subject areas

  • - A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.

    Mobile version available here

  • - A cooperative catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Worldcat is also available through FirstSearch here.

Share this
Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: