Political Science

Subject Guide

Databases by Subject

American Fact Finder

- Includes population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Congressional Serial Set

- The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Congressional Universe

- A comprehensive collection of congressional publications.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

CQ Global Researcher

- Definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

CQ Researcher

- Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Ethnic NewsWatch

- Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America

Full Text        Tutorial Available

GreenFILE

- Index of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, offering a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index

- Indexes journals about Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the US

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

ICPSR

- The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research is the world largest collection of digital social science data. Topics covered include sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Latin American Intelligence Service

- Full text analysis of political and economic developments in Latin American

Full Text        Tutorial Available

LexisNexis Academic

- Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Mississippi Members of Congress

- Provides basic information on everyone who has represented the state in the U.S. Congress from 1801 to the present. The database includes years in office, congressional districts, committee memberships, and leadership positions. 

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800

- Provides a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Political Science Complete

- Provides full text for more than 385 publications and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals, including those of the International Political Science Association

Full Text        Tutorial Available

ProQuest Congressional

- Indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

ProQuest Statistical Insight

- Statistics on all subjects, U.S. and international. Formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

ProQuest U.S. Serial Set and Maps Digital Collection

- Full text access to Congressional documents and reports from 1789-1969. Formerly LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set and Maps Digital Collection 

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Public Documents Masterfile

- Comprehensive index to federal, state, and international documents with links to full text and to library holdings.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Roper Center For Public Opinion Research

Collection of poll data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

- The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Yearbook of International Organizations

-This database is the new web interface for the Yearbook of International Organizations Online, the flagship publication of the UIA. Since its foundation in 1907, the Union of International Associations (UIA) has been committed to a sustainable and long-term collection, analysis and dissemination of detail information on global civil society bodies and networks (organization contact details, origins, relations, members, bibliography, biographies, events, statistics, etc.), on world problems and the strategies advocated to deal with them, the values guiding such initiatives, and on the different understandings of human potential from which these values derive.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

eBooks

Google book search http://books.google.com/books

Search eBooks in our catalog http://umiss.lib.olemiss.edu/screens/ebook.html

Online reference books in Credo Reference

Rand Reports linked through our online catalog


Websites: US Politic

Documenting the American South: Audio files and transcripts of over 500 oral histories from the US South.
FEC.gov
Federal Election Commission, Unites
States of America

Political Advocacy Groups, a Directory of United States Lobbyists, Roger Kosson,  Denison University, and Emily Keller, University of Washington,

Policy Agendas Project Center for American Politics and Public Policy: Public policy info since the Second World War.
Project Vote Smart: Info on candidates & officials; backgrounds,
issue positions, voting records, campaign finances & more. 
U.S. Presidential Election Maps: 1860-1996
: National
election results for all presidential elections.

 

International Politics

Inter-parliamentary Union: Documents, press releases, publications + the PARLINE database.

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center: Internet resources, arranged by category, searchable by keyword.

Latin Americanist Research Resources Project: Includes Latin American social sciences gray literature and presidential speeches from Mexico and Argentina. 

 

Online Reference

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Online Reference Books
APSA Documentation (American Political Science Association)
Chicago Manual of Style
ICPSR: social science data sets

Share this
Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: