Physics and Astronomy

Subject Guide

Subject Specific Databases

Annual Reviews

Provides full text access to volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical/life, physical and social sciences.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

- Mirroring the growth and direction of science for a century, the Handbook, now in its 93rd edition, continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting tables of data, its
usefulness spans every discipline. This edition includes 17 new tables in the
Analytical Chemistry section, a major update of the CODATA Recommended Values
of the Fundamental Physical Constants and updates to many other tables. The
book puts physical formulas and mathematical tables used in labs every day
within easy reach.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Dissertation and Theses: A & I

- Comprehensive collection of citations to dissertations and theses from around the world. 

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Dissertations and Theses: University of Mississippi

- Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Engineering Village

- Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research. It contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journals, conference proceedings, and trade publications. 

Some Full Text        Tutorial Available

Google Scholar

- Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

INSPEC

- Contains abstracts and indexes to the world's scientific and technical literature in the physical sciences, communications, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, and computer science. 

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

National Academies Press

- Contains free PDF versions of more than 4,000 reports on a variety of topics from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. 

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Science.Gov

- Searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Scopus

Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Search for Patents:

Free Patents Online -
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office -
European Patents Office -
LexisNexis Academic - click the tab for "Legal" to search for patents
WIPO Intellectual Property Digital Library - worldwide patent search

 

Grant Information

National Science Foundation - Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Science
COS Funding Opportunities -From Community of Science. A searchable database including research grants across many disciplines.
Office of Naval Research -
UM Office of Research -
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers -

 

Graduate School Information

Peterson's Guide to Programs -
Graduate Record Exams - (GRE)
Physics Graduate School Directories -

 

Employment Resources

American Association for the Advancement of Science: Science Careers- from Science.
Chronicle of Higher Education Career Network - job listings in academia
Occupational Outlook Handbook : Physicists and Astronomers - career information
Occupational Outlook Handbook : Atmospheric Scientists - career information
PhysicsJobs - from PhysicsWeb

Share this
No votes yet
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: