Philosophy

Subject Specific Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

- A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Humanities International Complete

- Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

International Medieval Bibliography

- Multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa, and the Near East in the Middle Ages, 300-1500

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Library of Latin Texts - A

- Full text searching of more than 3,200 Latin texts from antiquity to the twentieth century.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Library of Latin Texts - B

- Full text searching of more than 300 Latin texts not included in LLT-A.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Library of Latin Texts - Cross Database Searchtool

- Full text searching of both LLT-A and LLT-B and Monumenta Germaniae Historica.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Philosopher's Index

- Index of journal literature on the subject of philosophy, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Religion and Philosophy Collection

- Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Online Reference Works

Philosophy Compass

Peer reviewed survey articles from across the discipline.

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Online encyclopedia.  Complete introduction to world philosophy.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

Online dictionary of philosophical terms.

 

Free Internet Resources

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Philosophy professors from many different locations edit and maintain this online encyclopedia. The entries are signed and they are written by philosophy PhD students or professors. This resource is a great way to become familiar with a new philosophical topic.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Stanford invites the top people in each field of philosophy to write entries for this encyclopedia. The search engine is a bit strange so it is best to simply browse topics in the alphabetical list.

 

Print Materials

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy

Share this
Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: