Pharmacy

Subject Specific Databases

ACS Journals

- Provides abstracts and full text for all journals produced by the American Chemical Society

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Agricola

- Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Includes more than 4.8 million citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. 

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

AHD.com : American Hospital Directory

The American Hospital Directory provides data and statistics about more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

- AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a recognized standard for patient drug information. 1100 drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers. (Was Lexi-PALS Drug Guide)

Full Text        Tutorial Available

AHFS Drug Information

- Provides an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy through a collection of drug monographs kept current by ongoing electronic updates.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Annual Reviews

Provides full text access to volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical/life, physical and social sciences.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Biological Abstracts

- Collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Cochrane Library

- Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and results of the world’s best medical research studies. The Cochrane Reviews are provided in full text.

Some Full Text        Tutorial Available

Food Chemicals Codex (FCC) Online

-The FCC is a compendium of internationally recognized standards for the purity and identity of food ingredients. It features approximately 1,100 monographs, including food-grade chemicals, processing aids, foods (such as vegetable oils, fructose, whey, and amino acids), flavoring agents, vitamins, and functional food ingredients (such as lycopene, olestra, and short chain fructooligosaccharides).

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index

- Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Google Scholar

- Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition

- Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

- An Ovid database gateway to pharmaceutical periodicals and medical journals.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Medline (via Ebsco)

- National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Medline (via Ovid)

- National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Medline (via PubMed)

- National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

National Academies Press

- Contains free PDF versions of more than 4,000 reports on a variety of topics from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. 

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Natural & Alternative Treatments

- Contains detailed information on almost 200 different conditions with the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 300 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 90 drug categories.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Natural Standard

- Contains data on complementary and alternative therapies

Full Text        Tutorial Available

PubGet

- Pubget is the search engine for life science and engineering PDFs. It indexes nearly 20 million life science research documents, including those in PubMed, and more than a million papers from IEEE.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

PubMed

- Comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

PubMed Central

- Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy

- The definitive reference on all aspects of the science and practice of pharmacy.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Scopus

Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

USP Dictionary Online

-The USP Dictionary of United States Adopted Names (USAN) and International Drug Names is the leading reference for nonproprietary drug names and chemical structures. In addition to USANs, the USP Dictionary provides International Nonproprietary Names (INNs), British Approved Names, Japanese Accepted Names, brand names, Unique Ingredient Identifier (UNII) codes, manufacturers, official USP–NF names, molecular weights, graphic formulas, pharmacologic and/or therapeutic categories, and pronunciations.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

USP–NF Online

-USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Related, Multidisciplinary and General Databases

  • - Premier source for articles in psychology. Provides access to articles in 2,450 scholarly journals in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Also includes books, book chapters, and dissertations.

  • - Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Includes more than 4.8 million citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. 

  • - Collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.

  • - Comprehensive collection of citations to dissertations and theses from around the world. 

  • - Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.

  • - Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.

  • - Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.

  • - Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

  • - Searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Share this
No votes yet
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: