Linguistics

Subject Specific Databases

Subject Specific Databases

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

- Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Reference Materials in Print

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics

An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics

Routledge Dictionary of Languages and Linguistics


Selected Internet Resources

iLoveLanguages (Formerly the Human-Languages Page)
A comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources, including links to online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools.

Speech Accent Archive
Uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers.

Using English.com -- Resources for English as a Second Language
Provides a large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics. Browse our grammar glossary and references of irregular verbs, phrasal verbs and idioms, ESL forums, articles, teacher handouts and printables, and find useful links and information on English. Topics cover the spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.

Linguistic Indexes on the Internet
A collection of sites that provide indexes listing resources of interest to the linguist.

Urban Dictionary
A dictionary of English-language slang consisting of user-supplied definitions.

Share this
No votes yet
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: