Subject Specific Databases
America: History and Life
- Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
Black freedom struggle in the 20th century.
Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Brill Islamic Studies Online: Index Islamicus
- Index Islamicus Online is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Rightly described as ‘an indispensable tool for libraries, graduates and undergraduates alike. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
Brill Islamic Studies Online: Reference Works
- Provides searchable full text access to the following titles: Encyclopedia of Islam (2nd ed.), Encyclopedia of Islam Three, Encyclopedia of the Qur’an, and Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Chicago Defender
- Send details of articles needed, at least title and date, to Inter-Library Loan (http://hermes.lib.olemiss.edu/illiad/Logon.html) or to ill-lib@olemiss.edu
Full Text Tutorial Available
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
- Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Dictionnaire d'Histoire et de Géographie Ecclésiastiques
- Online encyclopedia of church history. All entries are in French. Contains links to the bibliographies in Revue d’histoire ecclesiastique.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Ethnic NewsWatch
- Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America
Full Text Tutorial Available
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
- Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
Historical Abstracts
- Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada – see America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
History Reference Center
- Comprehensive history reference database offering full text from more than 1,600 reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and leading history periodicals. Also includes thousands of historical documents, 78,000 biographies, historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Full Text Tutorial Available
History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle I&II
Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Humanities International Complete
- Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Index Islamicus
- Index Islamicus Online is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Rightly described as ‘an indispensable tool for libraries, graduates and undergraduates alike. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
International Medieval Bibliography
- Multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa, and the Near East in the Middle Ages, 300-1500
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
Library of Latin Texts - A
- Full text searching of more than 3,200 Latin texts from antiquity to the twentieth century.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Library of Latin Texts - B
- Full text searching of more than 300 Latin texts not included in LLT-A.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Library of Latin Texts - Cross Database Searchtool
- Full text searching of both LLT-A and LLT-B and Monumenta Germaniae Historica.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Mississippi Members of Congress
- Provides basic information on everyone who has represented the state in the U.S. Congress from 1801 to the present. The database includes years in office, congressional districts, committee memberships, and leadership positions.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
- An extensive collection of documents concerning areas of German influence in Europe from late antiquity to 1500. Updated annually, the database contains texts from all five divisions of MGH: Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, and Antiquitates.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
- Provides a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Revue d'Histoire Ecclésiastique. Bibliographie
- International bibliography of all aspects of church history. Contains links to the entries at Dictionnaire d’histoire et de geographie ecclesiastiques.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research
Collection of poll data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.
Not Full Text Tutorial Available
Salem History Online
- Provides searchable full text access to the following titles: The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, The Seventies in America, Great Lives from History: The Ancient World, Great Lives from History: The Middle Ages, Great Lives from History: Renaissance & Early Modern Era, Great Lives from History: The 18th Century, Great Lives from History: The 19th Century, and Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Statistical Abstract of the United States
- The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and
comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic
conditions of the United States.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Women Working, 1800-1930
- Digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this free online research collection from Harvard University.
Full Text Tutorial Available
Related, Multidisciplinary and General Databases
-
- Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Electronic Journals
Electronic journal issues are available via the online catalog. If you know the title of the journal you wish to examine, simply do a Journal Finder search.

Facebook
Twitter
Youtube