English and Literature

Welcome! The purpose of this guide is to help you find books, journal articles, databases, websites, and other useful information relevant to the University of Mississippi English programs.


Remembering Barry Hannah (1942-2010)

Explore his work in the university library.
Visit the exhibit in Archives and Special Collections.


Subject Specific Databases

American Poetry

- Poems by American poets from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. Includes criticism and some biographical information. Part of Literature Online.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Chadwyck-Healey Literature Online

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Dictionary of Old English Corpus

- The electronic corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Dictionary of Old English: A to G

- The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language. Includes links to the Oxford English Dictionary.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Early English Books Online

- Over 125,000 books published in England and in English prior to 1700

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Early English Books Online: Text Creation Partnership

- Searchable full-text from University of Michigan.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

English Poetry

- Works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 194 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Literary Reference Center

- A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Literature Online

- A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

MLA International Bibliography

- Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

NoveList

- Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Oxford English Dictionary Online

- An accepted authority on the English language, the OED is unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson)

- This database is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure. Short Story Index provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories, as well as full text for thousands of stories.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Women Writers Online

- Access to texts by pre-Victorian women writers

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Related, Multidisciplinary and General Databases

  • - A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.

  • - Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

  • - Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals.

  • - Full text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences.

Share this
Your rating: None Average: 4.7 (3 votes)
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: