Biology

Subject Specific Databases

Agricola

- Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Includes more than 4.8 million citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. 

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Annual Reviews

Provides full text access to volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical/life, physical and social sciences.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Biological Abstracts

- Collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

BioOne

- Full-text of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Dissertation and Theses: A & I

- Comprehensive collection of citations to dissertations and theses from around the world. 

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Dissertations and Theses: University of Mississippi

- Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Environment Complete

- Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy resources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index

- Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

GeoRef

- A comprehensive geosciences database produced by the American Geological Institute containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Google Scholar

- Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition

- Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Medline (via Ebsco)

- National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Medline (via Ovid)

- National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Medline (via PubMed)

- National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

National Academies Press

- Contains free PDF versions of more than 4,000 reports on a variety of topics from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. 

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Natural & Alternative Treatments

- Contains detailed information on almost 200 different conditions with the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 300 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 90 drug categories.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

PsycINFO

- Premier source for articles in psychology. Provides access to articles in 2,450 scholarly journals in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Also includes books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

PubGet

- Pubget is the search engine for life science and engineering PDFs. It indexes nearly 20 million life science research documents, including those in PubMed, and more than a million papers from IEEE.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

PubMed

- Comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

PubMed Central

- Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Science.Gov

- Searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Scopus

Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities.

Not Full Text        Tutorial Available

Related, Multidisciplinary and General Databases

  • - A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.

Share this
No votes yet
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: