Useful Websites
African American Odyssey
The papers of Frederick Douglass, slave narrative, Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860, Jackie Robinson and more; from the Library of Congress
African American Perspectives.
African American Studies: Documenting the African American Experience at the University of Mississippi
The African-American Studies program grew out of demonstrations of over 80 African American students at the University of Mississippi in 1970 resulting in the hiring of Ms. Jeanette Jennings, the first black faculty member and courses in the Black Studies Program.
Brown v. Board of Education
Full text of court decisions related to the Brown case from the U.S. Supreme Court and lower federal courts, and citations to related state court cases. Also included are oral histories and a bibliography of books related to Oliver L. Brown.
Center for the Study of Southern Culture
The University of Mississippi Center for the Study of Southern Culture promotes scholarship on every aspect of Southern culture, through publications, media productions, lectures, performances, and exhibitions.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Civil Rights Documentation Project
Includes the Civil Rights Oral History Bibliography; Civil Rights History Transcripts; Civil Rights Timeline.
Civil Rights In Mississippi: Digital Archives
Includes civil rights oral histories, transcripts and photographs, a timeline, bibliographies, digital collections as well as other civil rights resources.
See Emancipation Petitions which were filed in response to the Compensated Emancipation Act of April 16, 1862. These petitions provide a voluminous, rich, and detailed record of the character of slavery in Washington and a vivid portrait of the 3,300 slaves who gainded their freedom in 1862.
Documenting the American South:
Audio files and transcripts of over 500 oral histories from the US
South.
Greensboro Sits-in: Launch of a Civil Rights Movement
This site promotes champions the four students of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University and contains media headlines, a timeline, photo gallery, access to the News and Record's Online Archives, and related web links.
MAAP: Mapping the African American Past
Created to enhance the appreciation and study of significant sites and moments in the history of African Americans in New York from the early 17th-century through the recent past. The Web site is a geographic learning environment, enabling students, teachers, and visitors to browse a multitude of locations in New York and read encyclopedic profiles of historical people and events associated with these locations. The site is further enhanced by selected film and music clips; digitized photographs, documents, and maps from Columbia University's libraries; and commentary from Columbia faculty and other specialists.
Malcolm X Project at Columbia University
Includes a biography, timeline, bibliography, videography, and discography of published resources. as well as a number of articles about Malcolm X.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute
A major research effort to assemble and disseminate historical information concerning Martin Luther King, Jr. and the social movements in which he participated. Biography, encyclopedia of MLK's life, sermons, speeches, writings, and unpublished manuscripts.
Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection, Library of Congress
A panoramic review of African American history and culture, spanning almost 100 years from the early nineteenth through the early twentieth centuries. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
A division of the New York Public Library. the Schomburg Center provides access to more than 5 million documentary items including archive and manuscript collections, digital collections, maps atlases, exhibitions, and other web resources.
W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for Afro-American Research
The nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of African Americans. The Institute serves as the site for research projects, fellowships for emerging and established scholars, publications, conferences, and working groups.
We Shall Overcome: Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement
Includes a list of historic landmark sites of the civil rights Movement, an itinerary map, histories of the civil rights movement, autobiographies, and biographies.
Who Speaks for the Negro?
An archival collection of interviews with a variety of Civil Rights Movement figures conducted for Robert Penn Warren's book.

Facebook
Twitter
Youtube