African American Studies

Subject Specific Databases

African American Poetry

- Poems by African American poets from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. Includes criticism and some biographical information. Part of Literature Online.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Black freedom struggle in the 20th century.

Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Chadwyck-Healey Literature Online

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Chicago Defender

- Send details of articles needed, at least title and date, to Inter-Library Loan (http://hermes.lib.olemiss.edu/illiad/Logon.html) or to ill-lib@olemiss.edu

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Ethnic NewsWatch

- Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America

Full Text        Tutorial Available

History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle I&II

Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Literature Online

- A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Full Text        Tutorial Available

Related, Multidisciplinary and General Databases

  • - A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.

  • - Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.

  • - Definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.

Share this
No votes yet
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: