LIBA 102 - Civil War in Virginia - Trott

For a comprehensive search you can use One Search.  This will search for monographs, reference materials, newpapers, journal articles simultaneously.  One Search is available as a search box on the library homepage.

 

When using One Search be sure to control the size of your results set with the facets available on the left hand side of the screen.  This will allow you to limit by format, subject and date.  A PDF tutorial to One Search is also available.

 

Books

Catalog - indentify books in the library holdings.  Remember that you can find information on you topic in books that are broader in scope.  For example, a history of the Shenendoah Campaign would include a description of most battles.  Similarly, if you indentify the generals involved in your battle, a biography of that individual would provide you with useful information.

 

Journal Articles

 

Academic Search Premier  - Indexes over 1,530 journals, many full text. This general index includes material from many different fields.

 

America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries and covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.


JSTOR  – Full text of 360 journals from their beginnings to a moving wall of two to five years from the present. 

 

History Reference Center  – Journal and books

 

Civil War Magazines

Civil War Times  E461.C58 (Online 2002-Present)

Civil War Times Illustrated E461.C58 Micro 1962-1979, Bound 1979-2002 Online 1997-2002

America’s Civil War Online 1996-Present

Civil War History E461.C5 1955-2003, Online 2004-Present

 

Indexes Covering the Nineteenth Century

 

New York Times Index. (Reference AI21 .N44)  Indexes the New York Times from 1851 to the present.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, by William Frederick Poole.  Boston: Houghton Mifflin and Co. 6 vols. (Reference AI3 .P4) Indexes 407 periodicals from 1802-1906.  Be forewarned that many of the magazines indexed in Poole’s are included in two major microfilm sets: American Periodical Series.

 

 

Primary Source Materials

 

The Civil War : a newspaper perspective : the New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury, Richmond Enquirer. Malvern, PA: Accessible Archives, 1994. The full text of over 11,000 articles from over 2500 issues of The New York Herald, the Richmond Enquirer, and The Charleston Mercury, published between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865.

 

Microfilm. Confederate imprints, 1861-1865. 143 reels. New Haven, Conn.: Research Publications, [1974?]  (Accompanying index entitled: A reel index to the microfilm collection of Confederate imprints, edited by Edward A. Reno,Jr. and Margaret M. Brezicki. E484.R45).

 

United States. War Dept. The war of the Rebellion : a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies. 69 vols. Sets are in Special Collections and Government documents  at W 45.4: (now online; http://ebooks.library.cornell.edu/m/moawar/index.html)

 

Internet Resources

 

American Memory, the Library of Congress Web site for American History, has several Civil war collections, including maps and Brady Studio photographs. Also the Journal of the Congress of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865 can be located at this Web site under Congressional Documents, Serial Set, 58th Congress.

 

Civil War Battle Summaries by State, produced by the Civil War Sites Advisory Commission and provides a short summary of the battle including commanders and alternate names.

 

Civil War in the American South, A collaborative effort by the Association of Southeastern Research Librarians, this site contains links to digital content held at over 30 major libraries in the South including the University of Mississippi.

 

Documenting the American South, University of North Carolina’s Web site, has a section, “The Southern Home Front, 1861-1865,” plus many other pictures and narratives from the Civil War.

 

Virginia Military Institute Archives – Civil War Resources.

 

American Civil War Collections at the Electronic Text Center

 

Valley of the Shadow, a digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War.

 

Making of America, Cornell University, has a number of periodicals covering the Civil War years.

Share this
Your rating: None Average: 5 (2 votes)
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: