History 400 - Payne

For a comprehensive search you can use One Search.  This will search for monographs, reference materials, newpapers, journal articles simultaneously.  One Search is available as a search box on the library homepage or at http://olemiss.summon.serialsolutions.com.

 

When using One Search be sure to control the size of your results set with the facets available on the left hand side of the screen.  This will allow you to limit by format, subject and date.  A PDF tutorial to One Search is also available.

 

To just search for books in the library collection, use the catalog. For listings of all books that exist on a subject you can search WorldCat.

 

Journal Articles

 

America: History and Life - Indexes historical journals and magazines and dissertations and thesis about regions which currently compose the United States and Canada published after 1963.  You can limit a search to a particular time period.

Humanities International Complete - Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals.

SocIndex with Full Text - covers all sociological topics including all subdisciplines and related areas of study.

Historical Reference Center - a historical database indexing over 1600 monographs, encycolpedias and other published works as well as documents, maps, photos and over 80 hours of video content.

 

Documents

Proquest History Vault

     Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records

     Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1

 

Newspapers

 

Ethnic NewsWatch- Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America

 

Chicago Defender - Index to the Chicago Defender 1905-1975.  Library has microform covering 1909-1966.  Interlibrary Loan would be necessary to access articles from other dates.

 

- Lists every Mississippi newspaper on microfilm in the J.D. Williams Library by title, date, city, and county.

 

Reference Books

The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture  REF F209 .N47 2006

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights : From Emancipation to the Twenty-First Century REF E185.61 .E54 2003

The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America REF E185.61 .E544 1998

Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the Present : From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century REF E185 .E5453 2009

 

Census and Population Resources

 

American Factfinder

The online source for the census information directly from the Census Bureau.  If you need assistance using the American Factfinder, Vanderbilt University has prepared a tutorial.

United States Historical Census Data Browser
 The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research provides this informative, unique site with population and economic data from 1790 to 1960. Depending on the year, the data vary in category and whether the collection was at the level of the household or the individual. A fascinating and reliable source for historical statistics.

National Survey of Families and Household 

The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life to serve as a resource for research across disciplinary perspectives. A considerable amount of life-history information was collected, including: the respondent's family living arrangements in childhood, departures and returns to the parental home, and histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment. The design permits the detailed description of past and current living arrangements and other characteristics and experiences, as well as the analysis of the consequences of earlier patterns on current states, marital and parenting relationships, kin contact, and economic and psychological well-being. Interviews were conducted in 1987-88, 1992-94, and 2001-2003.

 

 

Internet Resources

 

Documenting the American South
"Currently, DAS includes six digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana." The Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill sponsors this well-documented project. You can search across the collection or browse each of the six discrete componants. Read diaries, letters, slave narratives, poetry, and more as well as view photographs and pages of these books. A superb resource.

 

Civil Rights Oral History Documentation Project

Transcripts of interviews conducted by the Center for Oral History and Cultural Heritage at USM.

 

 

 

 


Share this
No votes yet
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: