Political Papers Archivist and Assistant Professor
- Research & Collections
- Using the Library
This section of the Religion Subject Guide describes Manuscript Collections with content on various religious topics.
Thomas G. Abernethy Collection. 1924-1975. A Democrat, Thomas G. Abernethy served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1943 to 1973. Among his congressional files are "Department of State -- Church of Christ Missionaries -- Italy, 1950-1955" (Box 386, Folder 5) and "National Council of Churches, 1963-1969" (Box 125, Folder 5). Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00001/ (454 boxes). Photographs and a recording from this collection are available as a digital collection. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Samuel Agnew Diary Photocopies. 1851-1902. An Associate Reformed Presbyterian minister, teacher, and farmer who lived in Mississippi, Samuel Agnew kept detailed journals. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00005/ (23 boxes).
American Family Association Collection. 1990-2005. Contains publications and circular letters from the American Family Association (AFA). Based in Tupelo, Mississippi, the organization is a lobbying group devoted to a conservative Christian political and social ideology. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00008/ (2 boxes).
Audubon Mississippi/Strawberry Plains Finley Collection. Material related to the lives of several Marshall County, Mississippi families and the Strawberry Plains plantation. Includes files on the Strawberry Church. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM01701/ (29 boxes).
Jeff Balfour Collection. Includes photographs of Pioneer Methodist Church in Panola County, Fredonia Methodist Church, and College Hill Presbyterian Church. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00016/ (4 boxes).
Marge Baroni Collection. 1955-1985. Marge Baroni was a white native of Natchez, Mississippi who became active in the civil rights movement in the 1960s. A Catholic, she developed a friendship with Dorothy Day, a leading activist in the Catholic Worker Movement which advocated peace and social justice. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00020/ (20 boxes).