Politics and Government: Congressional Collections

Thomas Gerstle Abernethy (1903-1998)

A Democrat, Thomas G. Abernethy served in the U.S. House of Representatives between 1943 and 1973, where he was a member of the Committee on Agriculture, the Committee on Education and Labor, and the District of Columbia Committee.

The Thomas G. Abernethy Collection consists of 444 boxes and contains congressional papers from throughout his term in office. A folder-level inventory is available, and the collection is open to researchers.  The collections is open to researchers, and a finding aid is available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00001/Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.  Photographs and a recording are available online as a digital collection.

William Thad Cochran (1937- )

A Republican, Thad Cochran represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1973 to 1978. Elected to the U.S. Senate in 1978, he has served on the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry and has chaired the Senate Republican Conference and the Committee on Appropriations.

The Thad Cochran Collection is not open to researchers.

Ross Alexander Collins (1880-1968)

Ross A. Collins, a Democrat, served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1921 to 1935 and from 1937 to 1943.

The Ross A. Collins Collection consists of one scrapbook donated by Collins containing photographs and autographs of prominent individuals, as well as one box of copied papers regarding Collins’ efforts to have the Library of Congress acquire the Vollbehr Collection of Incunabula (the Library of Congress holds the original correspondence). The collections is open to researchers, and a finding aid is available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00082/. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662)
915-7408 to specify requested material.

Jefferson Davis (1808-1889)

A Democrat, Jefferson Davis served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1845 to 1846 and in the U.S. Senate from 1857 to 1861, where he was chairman of the Committee on Military Affairs. Davis resigned from the House in 1846 to command the First Regiment of Mississippi Riflemen in the Mexican War. From 1853 to 1857, he served as President Pierce’s Secretary of War. In 1861, Davis was elected President of the Confederacy.

Share this