Literary Collections

Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide

The collections described below, from the Department of Archives & Special Collections at the University of Mississippi, contain correspondence, manuscripts, and ephemera relating to the literary heritage of Mississippi.

Note: Twentieth Century literary manuscripts and letters may not be photocopied without the written permission of the literary copyright holders.

 

James E. (Jack) Bales Collection.  1950s-2004.  Research files and notes kept by Jake Bales while researching his books about author Willie Morris.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00015/ (7 boxes).

Nevada Barr Collection.  1990s-2000s.  This collection contains manuscripts, galleys, notes, promotional publishing materials, correspondence, and other items concerning the work of this noted mystery author. Materials relating to several of Barr's published works are in the collection including Track of the Cat, A Superior Death, Ill Wind, Deep South, Blood Lure, Hunting Season, Liberty Falling, and others. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00022/ (20 boxes).

Henry and Katharine Bellamann Collection. 1923-1958. This collection contains the papers of Heinrich Hauer (Henry) and Katharine Jones Bellamann. Henry, a native of Missouri, authored several novels including King's Row (1940), Crescendo Interludes (1928), The Richest Woman in Town (1932), The Gray Man Walks (1936), and others. He was at work on a sequel to the popular King's Row at the time of his death.  Katherine, a native of Carthage, Mississippi, was also a novelist and poet. Among other publications, Katherine wrote My Husband's Friends (1931) and A Poet Passed this Way (1958). Katherine finished her husband's sequel entitled Parris Mitchell of King's Row (1948). This collection contains annotated manuscripts of many of these works, correspondence, and othe rmaterials relating to the life and work of these two authors. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00031/  (42 boxes).

Share this
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: