Gender Studies Collections

Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide

Gender Studies Collections

The collections described below, from the Department of Archives & Special Collections at the University of Mississippi, contain correspondence, manuscripts, and ephemera relating to gender relations in Mississippi and the South.

Jennie and Lucia Adams Collection.  1845-1944.  Papers of Jennie and Lucia Adams, two sisters who co-owned Cedar Mound Plantation outside Clarksdale, Coahoma County, Mississippi.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00004/ (13 boxes).

Aldrich Family Collection. 1740-1972. Papers of Eliza Allison Treadwell Aldrich, J. Marvin Aldrich, Marvin Treadwell Aldrich, and Ransom E. Aldrich. Includes letters dating from the antebellum period through the early twentieth century and reconstruction business records. Women correspondents include Eliza Treadwell Aldrich, her sister Lucy Treadwell Withers, and other family members.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00006/ (25 boxes).  Part of the collection is available as a digital collection at http://clio.lib.olemiss.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/aldrich.

Betty Allen Materials. Undated. Notes of Dorothy Oldham relating to Betty Allen and property rights of Mississippi women in 1839.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

American Association of University Women, Mississippi Division Records. 1927-present. Archives of the Mississippi Division of the American Association of University Women.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00007/ (111 boxes).

Audubon Mississippi/Strawberry Plains Finley Collection.  1830-2008.  Includes the diaries of Margaret Finely (1922) and Emma Finely (1858-1859) of Marshall County, Mississippi.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM01701/ (29 boxes).

Kathleen Baldwin Collection. c. 1912-1917. Memorabilia from student years at the University of Mississippi, where Baldwin received a B.A. in 1915 and an M.A. in 1917. A poet, ,much of her collection contains school songs and hymns.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00518/ (1 box).

Barbour Collection. c. 1920-1922. Typed transcription of oral reminiscences by Kathryn Lovett Barbour who played cards with William Faulkner and Estelle Oldham. Barbour was a physical education professor at the University of Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 97-1 (1 folder).

Share this
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: