Head of Archives and Special Collections and Associate Professor
- Research & Collections
- Using the Library
The collections below, from the Department of Archives and Special Collections at the University of Mississippi, contain correspondence, manuscripts, and ephemera relating to the Mississippi Civil Rights Movement with a focus on the 1962 integration of the University of Mississippi. Among others the collections contain the papers of James H. Meredith, Civil Rights Activist and the first African-American student at the University of Mississippi; the papers of former University of Mississippi professor and author of Mississippi: The Closed Society, Dr. James Silver; and former University of Mississippi political science professor and author of Integration at Ole Miss, Dr. Russell Barrett.
Special Collections also holds a number of original newspapers, among them are scattered issues of some Mississippi African American newspapers, see Journalism & Mass Media: Newspapers.
Thomas Abernethy Collection. 1943-1973. Thomas B. Abernethy of Mississippi served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1943 to 1973. His congressional papers includes many files on the issues of civil rights and race relations. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00001/ (444 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs and one recording from the collection are available as a digital collection at http://clio.lib.olemiss.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/abernethy.
Afro-American Studies Newsletter/The Vision Collection. 1989-1993. Eleven issues of the newsletter for the Afro-American Studies (now African-American Studies) program at the University of Mississippi. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00511/ (1 box).
Samuel Agnew Diary Photocopies. 1851-1902. An Associate Reformed Presbyterian minister, teacher, and farmer who lived in Mississippi, Samuel Agnew's diaries wrote about relations with slaves and free blacks. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00005/ (23 boxes).
American Association of University Professors (AAUP), University of Mississippi Chapter Collection. 1949-present. Contains correspondence, member lists, minutes, financial statements, chapter letters, handbooks, bulletins, and newspaper clippings. Includes material on race relations at the University of Mississippi and other campuses. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00513/ (7 boxes).