1927 Mississippi River Flood: Music Resources

The Mississippi Flood Song.  Words by Jed Hopkins, music by Sarah A. Westcott.  New York:  Ager, Yellen, & Bornstein, circa 1927.  Sheet Music Collection.  Joe Hoover's Mississippi Flood Song.  Words and music by Joe Hoover.  New York:  Max Kortlander, 1927.  Call Number:  M1658 M6 H6 1927.

Musicians reacted to the 1927 Mississippi River flood by referencing it in their compositions.  The following list includes sheet music, LPs, CDs, DVDs, and publications available in the Archives & Special Collections.

 

Big Bill Broonzy.  Big Bill's Blues.  New York: Epic, 1968.  LP record which includes "Southern Flood Blues."  Call Number:  Epic EE22017.

Vernon Dalhart.  The Wreck of the Old 97 and Other Early Country Hits.  Brighton, Michigan:  Old Homestead, 1985.  LP record which includes the song "The Mississippi Flood."  Call Number:  Old Homestead OHCS 167.

Joe Hoover's Mississippi Flood Song.  Words and music by Joe Hoover.  New York: Max Kortlander, 1927.  Sheet music.  Call Number:  M1658 M6 H6 1927.

In the Spirit of No. 2.  Berkeley, CA:  Origin Jazz, 1968.  LP record which includes McIntorsh and Edwards' "The 1927 Flood."  Call Number:  Origin OJL-13.

The Mississippi Flood Song.  Words by Jed Hopkins, music by Sarah A. Westcott.  New York: Ager, Yellen & Bornstein, circa 1927.  Sheet music.  Location:  Sheet Music Collection.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00409/

People Take Warning!:  Murder Ballads & Disaster Songs, 1913-1938.  Tompkins Square, 2007.  Compact disc which includes W.A. Lindsey and Alvin Condor's "The Flood of 1927."  Call Number:  Tompkins Square TSQ 1875 [Oversized CD location].

Share this
Copyright © 2010 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved. Last modified: