Journalism and Mass Media: Newspapers

Most of the newspapers featured on this page are from Mississippi.

The J.D. Williams Library also has an extensive collection of Mississippi newspapers available in microfilm.  The database Mississippi Newspapers on Microform permits searches for specific publications by map, date, city, or county.  A similar database is available for Non-Mississippi Newspapers on Microform.

 

8 x 12.  1996.  Oxford, Mississippi. Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 16.

Aberdeen Examiner.  1936 (January 2) -- 1937 (May 27).  Aberdeen, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 91.

The American Patriot.  1965 (September) and 1966 (February).  Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Race Relations Collection Box 7.

The Amory Argus.  1903 (January 30, February 13).  Amory, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Ariel.  1825-1828.  Natchez, Mississippi. Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 20.

Arts in Yoknapatawpha.  1997 (Winter) -- 1998 (Fall). Yoknapatawpha Arts Council in Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

Augusta Courier.  1957-1959.  Newspaper of the Augusta, Georgia Citizens' Council.  Location:  Citizens Council Collection Box 3.

The Banner Independent.  1961 (June 8 Centennial Edition).  Booneville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 63.

The Belmont Tri-County News.  1942 (September 17). Belmont, Mississippi. Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Bentonia News.  1939 (November 15).  Bentonia, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Biloxi News.  1930 (June).  Biloxi, Mississippi.  40th Annual Reunion United Confederate Veterans Souvenir Number.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 58.

Blood and Fire.  1944 (March 11).  Camp Van Dorn, Mississippi  newspaper (63rd Infantry Division).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Bolivar County Democrat.  1906 (June 2).  Rosedale, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Bolivar County News.  1942 (September 17). Cleveland, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Booneville Banner.  1942 (September 17).  Booneville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Booneville Independent.  1942 (September 18).  Booneville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Booster.  1942 (September 18).  Purvis, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Brandon News.  1942 (September 17) and 1951 (June 14).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75. 

The Brandon Republican.  1874 (April 23) -- 1876 (June 29).  Brandon, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 92. 

Brookhaven Leader-Times.  1961 (October 3, November 9, December 14) and 1962 (January 16 & 18).  Brookhaven, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

The Cadet.  1831 (February 3).  Washington, Mississippi.   Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 59.

The Calhoun County Journal.  1970 (June 25).  Bruce, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

The Capital Reporter.  1979 (September 27) -- 1979 (November 1), 1980 (January 13) -- 1981 (September 10).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 4. 

Casino Connection.  1995-1997.  Jackson, Mississippi.  Advertising supplement for the Clarion-Ledger.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 45.

Casino Explorer.  1995-1996.  Tunica, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 46.

Charleston News/Tallahatchie News.  1888-1891.  Charleston, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 93.

Chickasaw Messenger.  1880 (October 7) and 1886 (March 11).  Okolona, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 15.

Choctaw Community News.  1975 (December) and 1976 (May 31 and December 17).  Philadelphia, Mississippi.  Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.  Location: E99 C8 C46.

Choctaw Plaindealer.  1942 (September 18).  Ackerman, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61. 

The Chronicle-Star Combined with the Moss Point Advertiser.  1942 (September 18).   Pascagoula and Moss Point, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.  

[Civil Conservation Corps Company 4428 Newspaper].  1936 (March).  Camp Mississippi Soil Conservation Service.  Location:  Lealon E. Martin Collection Box 2.

The Citizens' Council.  1955-1961.  Call Number:  HS1 C5.  Official paper of the Citizens' Council published in Jackson, Mississippi. 1955 (October).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.  See also, 1958 (August).  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21. See also, 1957-1959.  Location:  Citizens Council Collection Box 3.

Citizens' Informer.  1975 (July).  Mississippi Citizens' Council newspaper published in Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Citizens' Council Collection Box 3.

City Bulletin.  1961-1966. Natchez, Mississippi.    African American newspaper. 
Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 21.  See also, 1963 (April 13 fragment), 1965 (December 18), and undated fragment.   Location:  Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection Box 47.

The Clarion.  1887 (July 13).  Jackson, Mississippi.   Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8.  See also, 1887 (December 7).  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 15.

Clarion-Ledger.  1888 (January 19, April 19 & 26).  Location:  Featherston Collection Boxes 15 & 16.

Clarksdale Daily Register.  1925 (July-September).  Clarksdale, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 94.

Cleveland Enterprise.  1942 (September 15).  Cleveland, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Coffeeville Courier. 1936.  Coffeeville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 90.  See also, 2009 (September 17).  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Collegian.  1964 (April 22).  Mississippi College.  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.

The Columbian Progress.  1942 (September 17) and 1952 (January 17).  Columbia, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 57. 

Columbus Democrat.  1841 (March 27, April 17, October 30).  Columbus, Mississsippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 59.

Columbus Weekly Dispatch.  1887 (August 20).  Columbus, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 15.

The Comet.  1879 (January 11) -- 1880 (December 25).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 6.  See also, 1880 (March 27, May 29, & July 24).  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 14.

The Commercial Appeal.  1927 (May 15).  Memphis, Tennessee.  Photogravure Picture Section on 1927 Mississippi River Flood.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 63.

The Commonwealth.  1902-1929 (scattered).  Greenwood, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

The Community Citizen.  1955 (June 23).  Citizens' Council newspaper of New Albany, Mississippi.  Location:  Location:  Citizens' Council Collection Box 3.

The Conservative.  1934 (July 13) and 1968 (June 6, October -November).  Carrollton, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 57.  See also, 1942 (September 18) and 1905 (August 19).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 65.   See also, 1961 (April 27) and 1972 (April 6).  Special Pilgrimage Editions.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 58.

Copiah County News.  1942 (September 17).  Hazlehurst, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.  See also, 1935 (July 4).  Location:  Lealon E. Martin Collection Box 2.

Corinth Herald.  1903 (December 15 Historical Edition).  Corinth, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 63.

Cotton Trade Journal.  1943 (February 6), 1944 (June 24), 1945 (April 21), and 1954 (February 15).  "International weekly newspaper of the cotton industry" published in Memphis, Tennessee.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

The Courier-Journal.  1885 (December).  Louisville, Kentucky.  "The President's Message Supplement" with President Grover Cleveland's first communication to Congress.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 63.

The Crusader.  1977-1978.  Newspaper of the Louisiana Ku Klux Klan.  Location:  Ku Klux Klan Collection Box 2.

Daily Bulletin.  1897 (September 22-24, October 2).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8. 

Daily Citizen.  1863 (July 2).  Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Civil War siege newspaper published on wallpaper.  Special Collections has two reproduction copies and one original.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 66.

Daily Clarion.  1875 (October 12 & 14), 1876 (October 2 & 3), and 1880 (March 7).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 14.  See also, 1865 (November 21 & 25).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8.

Daily Clarion-Ledger.  1908 (April 16).  Jackson, Mississippi.  "Our Women in the War" Supplement (Civil War).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8.

The Daily Corinthian.  1952 (October 17), 1953 (December 30), 1964 (May 16), and 1966 (March 30).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.  See also, 1954 (May).  Location:  Mrs. R.E. Price Collection Box 2. See also, circa 1961 Special Civil War Centennial Edition.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 58.

Daily Delta.  1888 (December 6).  Greenville, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 16.

The Daily Democrat.  1910 (July 9) and 1924 (June 23).  Greenville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Daily Journal.  1970 (July 31).  Tupelo, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 57.

The Daily Mississippi Pilot.  1874 (December 30) -- 1875 (August 1).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 7.

The Daily Mississippian.  Special Collections has bound copies of this University of Mississippi student newspaper dating from 1968 to 2009.  Special Collections copies are held for preservation only, and researchers should use the library's microfilm copies instead.  See also, scattered issues 2003-2005.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 50. See also, 1969 (April 1), 1986 (October 7), 1998 (November 4), and  2008 (November 5).  Location:  Mississippian/Daily Mississippian Collection.

Daily Planet.  1996-1997.  New Albany, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 13. 

Daily Register.  1925 (July-September).  Clarksdale, Missisisppi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 94. 

The Daily Times.  1875 (16 July) -- 1876 (June 30).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 9. 

Daily Times-Leader.  1958 (July 11 Centennial Edition) and 1972 (September 20).  West Point, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 63 & 75.   

Deer Creek Pilot.  1947 (May) -- 1948 (April).  Rolling Fork, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 78.  See also, 1971 (March 4).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Delta Council Review.  2005 (October, December).  Publication of the Delta Council.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Delta Flag.  1895 (February 28).  Greenwood, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

Delta Journal.  1942 (September 17).  Clarksdale, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Democratic Banner.  1853 (3 June).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 12. 

Democratic Herald.  1898-1901.  Charleston, Mississippi. Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 2.   See also, 1893-1899, 1902-1903, 1905.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 89 and 95 through 101.

DeSoto County News.  1942 (September 17) and 1963 (March 7 Historical Edition).  Olive Branch, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.  

Dialectic Reflector.  1884-1886.  Mississippi State University newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 9.

The Dixie Herald.  1908 (July 2).  Pittsboro, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Durant News.  1952 (September 18).  Holmes County, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Eagle.  1970-1979.  Official publication of the Mississippi Republican Party.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 55.

The Eastern Clarion.  1861 (July 26).  Paulding, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 59.

Echoes of the Natchez High School.  1921(October) -- 1922 (May).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.

Enterprise-Journal.  1972 (March 31).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 57.

The Fayette Chronicle.  1942 (September 18).  Fayette, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Fiery Cross.  1964 and 1976-1978.  Newspaper of the Alabama Ku Klux Klan.  Location:  Ku Klux Klan Collection Box 2.

The Fora Outlook.  1942 (September 18).  Flora, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Fulton News Beacon.  1942 (September 17).  Fulton, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Gloster Record.  1942 (September 18).  Gloster, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Good Times.  1995-1996.  Tunica, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 47.

Greenville Democrat.  1888 (December 6).  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 16.

Greenwood Commonwealth.  Greenwood, Mississippi.  1929 (June), 1930 (March 24, April 2, May 30), 1905-1906, 1963 (August 28), and 1973 (April 20),   Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 11, 65, & 75.  See also, 1961 (April 26)  Civil War Centennial Edition. Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 58.   

Greenwood Commonwealth and Delta Industrial and Agricultural Review.  1929 (June).  Greenwood, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Greenwood Daily Commonwealth.  1919 (November 6, 12, 18), 1920 (August 13, 14), 1922 (July 4).  Greenwood, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Greenwood Enterprise.  1889 (February 28), 1893 (February 17), 1904 (June 17, September 9), 1905 (March 3, May 19, November 24).  Greenwood, Mississippi. 
Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

[unknown title].  1884 (February 16).  Greenwood, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Grenada County Weekly.  1958 (November 13).  Grenada, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 57.

The Guard.  1845 (January 22, March 19).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 12.  

The Gulf Coast Gazette.  1962 (October 10 & 17).  Location:  Race Relations Collection Box 7.

Handsboro Democrat.  1858-1859.  Handsboro, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 3.

Harrah's World.   Casino publication.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 49.

Hattiesburg American.  1928 (September 28).  Hattiesburg, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Hazlehurst Courier.  1942 (September 17).  Hazlehurst, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Herald of the South.  1860 (March 14).  Brandon, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 59.

The Hernando Press.  1869 (February 11) -- 1873 (January 23).  Hernando, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 2.

High School Echoes.  1931 (October).  Natchez High School in Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.

Holly Springs Gazette.  1844 (January 12).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 12.  See also, 1849 (October 12).  Location:  McAlexander/Marshall County Collection Box 2.

Holly Springs Reporter.   1880 (September 23), 1881 (April 7), and 1891 (June 4).  Location:  Featherston Collection Boxes 15 & 16.  See also, 1871 (June 30). 
Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 12.  See also, 1898 (January 20 and March 3). 
Location:  McAlexander/Marshall County Collection Box 2.

Holly Springs South.  1878 (April 10), 1880 (September 23) and 1886 (August 4).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Boxes 14 & 15.

Independent South.  1873 (May 8).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 14.

Itta Bena Progress.  1905 (February 24, March 3), 1906 (February 16).  Itta Bena, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Itta Bena Times.  1911 (May 5).  Itta Bena, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Iuka Vidette.  1957 (July 4).  Iuka, Mississippi.  Location:  Mrs. R.E. Price Collection Box 2.

Jackpot.  1997-1998.  Tunica, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 48.

The Jackson County Times.  1942 (September 19).  Ocean Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Jackson Daily News.  1947 (August 6).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.  See also, 1952 (January).  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 9. 

Jackson State Tribune.  1933 (October) -- 1934 (March).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Lealon E. Martin Collection Box 2.

The Jasper County News.  1942 (September 17).  Bay Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Jefferson Davis's Death Newspapers.  1889.  Various newspapers with coverage of Jefferson Davis's death and funeral.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 72.

Journal of Southern Commerce.  1954 (August 23).  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

Keesler News.  1952 (July 12) -- 1952 (October 1).  Keesler Air Force Base newspaper in Biloxi, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 1.

The Klansman.  1978 (May-August).  Newspaper of the Louisiana Ku Klux Klan.  Location:  Ku Klux Klan Collection Box 2.

Kudzu.  1968 (November-December), 1969 (March), 1970 (October).  Mississippi Student News Project.  Location:  Race Relations Collection Box 7. 

Lafa Shopper.  1976-1979.  Lafayette County, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 17.

Lafayette County News.  1899 (January 3), 1900 (January 3), and 1959 (June 1, June 29).  Lafayette County, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.  See also, 1959 (June) -- 1961 (July).  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 17. 

Lafayette County Press.  1908 (November 4).  Lafayette County, Mississippi.  Location:  Gordon Hall Time Capsule Contents Collection Box 2.

Lafayette Post.  1937.  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 18.

Lafayette Shopper-News.  1964.  Lafayette County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  F347 L2 L2 (OVRS).

The Leader:  Dedicated to Progress and Growth.  1961.  Meridian, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Leland Enterprise.  1942 (September 18).  Leland, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Lexington Advertiser.  1942 (September 17).  Lexington, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Life and Times of Oxford, Mississippi.  1999.  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 41.

The Light.  1942 (September 16).  African American newspaper published in Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Local Voice.  2006-2008.  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 42.

The Madison County Herald.  1942 (September 18) and 1953 (December 1).  Canton, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75.

The Magnolia Gazette.  1942 (September 17).  Magnolia, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Marshall Democrat.  1858 (December 16).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 12.  See also, 1857 (March 10).  Location:  Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection Box 31.

The McComb Enterprise.  1942 (September 8, 10, & 17).  McComb, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Memphis Appeal.  1888 (August 23 & 26, September 11).  Memphis, Tennessee.  Location:  Featherston Collection Boxes 15 & 16.

Memphis Daily Appeal.  1880 (June 15).  Memphis, Tennessee.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 14.  See also, 1860 (May 31) and 1865 (November 28). Location:  Newspapers (Boxed), Poster Case Drawer "Newspapers."  See also,
1856 (August 13) and 1872 (May 1).  Location:  Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection Box 31.

Memphis Weekly Appeal.  1857 (January 14 -- June 10).  Location:  Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection Box 31.

Memphis, Tennessee Newspapers.  1847-1977.  Various issues and newspapers.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 70.

Memphis Weekly Appeal.  1857 (March 25) and 1859 (September 7).  Memphis, Tennessee.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed), Poster Case Drawer "Newspapers."

The Meridian News.  1889 (December 7).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Meridian Star.  1950 (July 2 Enterprise, Miss. Celebration Section) and 1960 (May 8 100th Anniversary Edition).  Meridian, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 63. 

The Meteor.  1958 (September 11).  Crystal Springs, Mississippi.  Centennial lssue.  Location:  Lockwood Collection Box 1.

Mid-South Gaming Guide.  1997 (October 21) & 1998 (January 1).  Casino publication.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 49.

Mississippi Baptist.  1966 (August 15).  Mississippi Baptist Association.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65. 

Mississippi Bl├Ątter.  1857-1858.  St. Louis, Missouri.  German-language newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 71.

Mississippi Collegian.  1928 (November 16).  Mississippi College.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Mississippi Daily Pilot.  1874-1875.  Jackson, Mississippi.  Mississippi House Proceedings.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 10.

Mississippi EPA News.  1978 (April).  Electric Power Association of Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Missisippi Farm Bureau News.  1947(September) and 1956 (March).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.

Mississippi Farm Research.  1941-1957.  Newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 10.

Mississippi Free Press.  1961 (December 16).  Jackson, Mississippi.  African American newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.  See also, 1962 (August 18), 1964 (March 14 & 21, May 9 & 16).  Location:  Race Relations Collection Box 7.  See also, 1964 (May 30, June 6 & 20).  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.  See also, 1964 (June-August).  Location:  Lucy Turnbull Collection Box 2. 

Mississippi Free Trader.  1848 (February 2).  Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 64.

Mississippi Free Trader and Natchez Daily Gazette.  1839 (July 30) -- 1841 (December 30) and 1852-1853.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 13, 14, & 15. 

Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party Newsletter.  1968 (April 5).  Civil rights newspaper published in Sunflower, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.

Mississippi Freelance.  1969 (April).  Civil rights newspaper published in Greenville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Mississippi Methodist Advocate.  1958 (June 18).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 4.  See also, 1955 (August 3), 1958 (June 18).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8.

Mississippi Oil Review.  1943 (May 25).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Mississippi Pilot.  1954 (July 7).  Greenville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Mississippi Register.  1954 (December 3) and 1962 (August 3).  Official newspaper of the Diocese of Natchez-Jackson, published in Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 64.  See also, 1965 (December 17).  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.

Mississippi Reporter.  1971 (February 26).  Pascagoula, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74. 

The Mississippi Sun.  1920-1970.  Tallahatchie County, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 102 through 151.  See also, 1942 (September 17).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61. 

Mississippi Today.  1972 (February-June).  "Serving Catholics of Dioceses of Biloxi and Jackson."  Location:  Mrs. R.E. Price Collection Box 2.  See also, 1980 (May 9, May 23, August 15) and 1985 (July 26, August 9, September 13).  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.

The Mississippian.  Special Collections has bound copies of this University of Mississippi student newspaper dating from 1911 to 1968.  Special Collections copies are held for preservation, and researchers should use the library's microfilm copies instead.  See also, scattered issues 1912-1965.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 51 through 53.  See also scattered issues 1920-1949.  Location:  Mississippian/Daily Mississippian Collection.

Mississippian.  1861 (January 11, 15, 18).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8.

Miss-Lou Observer.  1965 (March 31, May 5 & 12) and 1966 (June 9).  Natchez, Mississippi.  Anti-Ku Klux Klan newspaper.  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.

The Monitor-Herald.  1942 (September 17).  Calhoun City, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Natchez Courier.  1863 (October 2, 9, 16, 20; March 17).  Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 64.

Natchez Daily Free Trader.  1858 (February 2) -- 1841 (December 30).  Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 16.

The Natchez Democrat.  1942 (September 17) and 1959 (October 15 Lynda Lee Mead Miss America Edition).  Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 63.  See also, 1919 (May 8).  Location:  Small Manuscripts Oversized Box 1979.  See also, 1960 (March), 1964 (March).  Pilgrimage Editions.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 58. 

The Natchez Times.  1954 (May 13).  Natchez, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

National Advocate.  1881 (September 9, November 4).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 15.

The Neshoba Democrat.  1949 (July 15) and 1954 (May 27).  Philadelphia, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

The New Albany Gazette.  1942 (17 September) and 1958 (February 26).  New Albany, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75.

New Mississippian.  1888 (January 31).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 15.

News-Advertiser.  1951 (June 21).  Amory, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

The Newton Record.  1942 (September 17), 1966 (April 27, November 2), and 1972 (August 30).  Newton, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75.

Non-Mississippi Newspapers.  1800-1968.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 68, 71, and 73.

North Mississippi Union.  1951 (March 28).  Jacinto, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 59.

North Mississippian.  1871 (October 28).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 12.

Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal.  2000 (January 1).  Tupelo, Mississippi..  Call Number:  Newspaper.

Ocean Springs Record.  1966 (February 3, 17, & 24).  Ocean Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Off Times.  1990 (October).  Published by the Hoka in Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 19.

Oil Review.  1954 (May 11) -- 1955 (May 24).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 88.

Okolona Messenger.  1942 (Setpember 17) and 1954 (June 17).  Okolona, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75.  

 Optic.  1932-1947.  Oxford, Mississippi high school.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 15.

 Oxford Eagle. 1876 (February 11), 1883-1870, 1908-1909, 1965.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 23 through 29 and 36. Box 28 contains a number of special editions including Victory in Europe, the World Premier of "Intruder in the Dust," and the 90th and Centennial anniversaries.  See also, 1945-1947, 1961, 1954-1957.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 20, 21, 45, & 46.

 The Oxford Falcon.  1865-1872.  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 39 through 33 & 35.

The Oxford Intelligencer.  1860-1861.  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

The Oxford Mercury.  1861 (March 14). Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

The Oxford Organizer.  1850 (January 5 and July 27).  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed), Poster Case Drawer "Newspapers."

Oxford Sun.  1881 (April 16).  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

Oxford Times.  1985-1986.  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 37 & 38.

Oxford Town.  1993-1998, 2006-2008.  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 39, 40, 42, & 44.

Oxford Weekly Ricochet.  1874 (July 14).  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

The Panolian.  1942 (September 17).  Batesville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The People's Press.  1866 (February 15) -- 1868 (February 6).  Hernando, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 1.

The Petal Paper.  1957 (March 14).  Petal, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.  See also, 1956 (June 14), 1957 (April-July), and 1959 (June-October).  Location:  Race Relations Collection Boxes 7 & 8.  See also, 1959 (January 15, February 19, March 19, April 23).  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.

The Phenix.  1841 (December 7) -- 1845 (April 1).  Hernando, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 3, 4, & 5.

The Picayune Item.  1942 (September 17).  Picayune, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Pike County Herald.  1942 (September).  Magnolia, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Pilgrimage and Civil War Centennial Newspapers.  1960s.  Special editions of various newspapers.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 58. 

 The Port Gibson Correspondent.  1824 (January 15).  Port Gibson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 59.

The Port Gibson Reveille.  1942 (September 17).  Port Gibson.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.  See also, 1924 (August) through 1929 (August.  Location:  Kelley Family Collection Box 6.

The Progress-Itemizer.  1924 (April 3).  Water Valley, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Purple and White.  1930-1931.  Millsaps College student newspaper in Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Lealon E. Martin Collection Box 2.

The Random Shot.  1876 (March 22).  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 36.

The Rebel Standard.  2001.  Bi-monthly conservative campus newspaper at the University of Mississippi.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00609/ (1 box).

The Reflector.  1929.  Mississippi State University student newspaper.  Call Number:  Newspaper.

Republican.  1875 (9 October).  Grenada, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 14.

The Reveille.  1944 (June 29).  Camp Shelby, Mississippi armed services newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Richton Dispatch.  1942 (September 18).  Richton, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Ruleville Record.  1954 (June 10).  Ruleville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Scott County News.  1942 (September 17).  Forest, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Scott County Times.  1953 (March 26).  Scott County, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

The Sea Coast Echo.  1957 (January 31).  Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Semi-Weekly Clarion.  1872 (June 28 & October 15).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 14. 

The South Reporter.  1942 (September 17), 1965 (November 25).  Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 12 & 61. See also, 1914 (November 25), 1929 (January 10).  Location:  McAlexander/Marshall County Collection Box 2.

South Vine.  1992-1994.  Taylor, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 43. 

The Southern Advocate.  1937-1940.  African American newspaper of Mound Bayou, Mississippi. Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 14.

Southern Baptist Record.  1891 (February 26).  Meridian, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Southern Farmer.  1948 (July-August).  Montgomery, Alabama agriculture newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Southern Galaxy.  1828 (July 17, September 25) and 1829 (June 25).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 64.

Southern Planter.  1832.  Woodville Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 87. 

Southern Reporter.  1887-1901, 1904-1946.  Sarids, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 22 through 44 and 47 through 77.  See also, 1942 (September 18), 1955 (September 29), and 1965 (November 25).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 12, 57, & 61.   

The Southern Reposure.  1955 (Summer).  Parody of Mississippi segregationists. Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.

The Southern Review.  1964 (October 27), 1966 (October 15), and 1967 (July 1).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.  See also, 1965 (January & September 15), 1966 (January 1), and 1969 (January).  Location:  Race Relations Collection Boxes 7 & 8. 

Southern Sentinel.  1942 (September 17).  Ripley, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Southern States.  1873 (June 25 & October 15) and 1880 (September 29).  Okolona, Mississippi.  Location:  Featherston Collection Boxes 14 & 15.

Southern Watchman.  1944-1945.  White supremacist newspaper published in Greensboro, Alabama.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 68 & 75. 

Sparetime.  1994 (October 14).  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 19.  

 State Times.  1955 (February 28), 1956 (January 15 James P. Coleman Inaugural Edition), 1959 (January, February, March) 1962 (January 16).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 5 through 8 & 63.

The States' Righter.  1948 (May).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Summer Sun.  1958-1959.  University of Mississippi summer session newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 56.

The Summit Sun.  1942 (September 17), 1948 (November 11), and 1954 (May 6).  Summit, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75.

The Sumner Sentinel.  1942 (September 17).  Sumner, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Sun Sentinel.  1967-1969, 1973-1990.  Charleston, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 152 through 168.  See also, 1942 (September 17).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Sunflower County News.  1966 (October 13).  Drew, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

The Sunflower Tocsin.  1942 (September 17) and 1953 (December 31).  Indianola, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75.

Sunny South.  1856 (November 13) and 1861 (May 16).  Aberdeen, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 59.

Tallahatchie Herald.  1900-1901, 1906, 1908, 1913-1919.  Charleston, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 169 through 176.

Tallahatchie News.  1892.  Charleston, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 177.

Tallahatchie News/Messenger.  1889-1890.  Charleston, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 178.

The Tate County Democrat.  1942 (September 17).  Senatobia, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Terry Headlight.  1942 (18 September).  Terry, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Thigpen's Store News.  1958 (April 23) and 1966 (March 26).  Picayune, Mississippi newspaper published by Thigpen Hardware Company.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 65 & 75.

The Thunderbolt.  1975-1979.  White supremacy newspaper published in Birmingham, Alabama.  Location:  Race Relations Collection Box 7.  See also, 1976 (May-July).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74. 

Today in Mississippi.  1988 (October) -- present.  Dixie Electric Power Association.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 22.

The Tunica Times-Democrat.  1942 (September 17) and 1946 (August 1).  Tunica, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 75.

Tupelo Daily Journal.  1942 (September 17) and 1970 (July 31).  Tupelo, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 57 & 61.  

The Tylertown Times.  1942 (September 17).  Tylertown, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

UDCMS.  1908-1971.  Official publication of the United Daughters of the Confederacy of Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 62.

The Union Appeal.  1942 (September 17).  Newton County, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Valley Flag.  1885 (August 1).  Greenwood, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Valley Sentinel.  1875 (May 1).  Greenwood, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 11.

Vicksburg Citizens' Appeal.  1956 (October 19) and 1964  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 65 and 69

Vicksburg Daily Herald.  1871 (October 18 & 26).  Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 66.

Vicksburg Daily Times.  1873-1875.  Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 67.  See also, 1872 (August 17).  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed), Poster Case Drawer "Newspapers."

Vicksburg Evening Post.  1963 (July 1 Civil War centennial of the fall of Vicksburg edition) and 1964 (December 11 "The Cairo Story" section commemorating the salvaging of the Civil War gunboat Cairo).  Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 57 & 63.

Vicksburg Herald.  1939 (September 1).  Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 66. 

Vicksburg Weekly Sun.  1860 (May 21).  Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed), Poster Case Drawer "Newspapers."

The Vidette.  1942 (September 17).  Iuka, Mississippi.  Call Number:  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Voice of SHIMPH.  1976-1977.  African American newspaper from Greenville, Mississippi by Mississippi Action for Community Education, Inc.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 60.

Water Valley Progress.  1887 (December 10).  Location:  Featherston Collection Box 15.

Wayne County News.  1972 (March 30).  Wayne County, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Webster Progress.  1942.  Eupora, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Weekly Clarion.  1872 (August 8) -- 1877 (November 21).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 11.  See also, 1867 (March 23), 1878 (April 10, June 12), 1879 (October 8), 1880 (December 16), and 1881 (November 23).  Location:  Featherston Collection Boxes 14 & 15.  See also, 1882 (November 15.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8.

Weekly Courier Journal.  1881 (September 26).  Louisville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Weekly Democrat.  1942 (September 17).  Poplarville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

The Weekly Factor.  2004-2005.  Newspaper serving Carroll, Grenada, LeFlore, and Montgomery counties.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

The Weekly Mississippian Pilot.  1872 (July 20) -- 1876 (June 24).  Jackson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volume 12.

The Wesson Enterprise.  1942 (September 18).  Wesson, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

West Point Herald.  1868 (April 11).  West Point, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

White Power.  1972-1975 and 1977-1978.  White supremacy.  Location:  Race Relations Collection Box 7.

William Faulkner's Death.  1962.  Various newspapers with coverage on William Faulkner's death and funeral.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 34 and 54.

The Winona Times.  1922 (April 28), 1923 (February 9), and 1942 (September 18).  Winona, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Boxes 61 & 65.

Winston County Journal.  1966 (February 29 75th Anniversary Edition with reproducton of 23 September 1892 issue).  Louisville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 63. 

Woodville Republican.  1823-1831 and 1833-1848.  Woodville, Mississippi newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Bound) Volumes 79 through 86.  See also, 1924 (July 19) Centennial Edition and 1974 (June 28) Sesquicentennial Edition.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 63. 

The Worker.  1949 (July 3).  New York, NY.  Southern Edition.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Ya'll.  1996 (January-April).  Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 65.

Yazoo Daily Yankee.  1863 (July 20).  Yazoo City, Mississippi.  [copy]  Location:  Mrs. R.E. Price Collection Box 1.

The Yazoo Semi-Weekly Sentinel.  1942 (September 18).  Yazoo City, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 61.

Share this