Antebellum: Primary Sources on the University of Mississippi

This list of Archives & Special Collections holdings contains primary source collections and publications on the University of Mississippi from 1848 to 1861.

 

Alumni Association Minutes Collection. 1858-1976. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00512/ (1 box).

Announcements and Catalogue. 1852-present. Call Number: LD3406 M7 A5.

William Barksdale.  "The True Office of the College":  An Address Delivered before the Alumni Association of the University of Mississippi, July 15, 1857.  Memphis, TN:  Bulletin Company's Cheap Steam Printing House, 1857.  Call Number:  LD3419 A3 B37 1857.

Frederick A. P. Barnard.  Letter to the Honorable, the Board of Trustees of the University of Mississippi.  Oxford, MS:  1858.  Call Number:  LD3405.8 B3.

Frederick A. P. Barnard.  Report on the Organization of Military Schools [Made] to the Trustees of the University of Mississippi, November, 1861.  Jackson:  Cooper & Kimball, 1861.  Call Number:  U409 M7 B3.

F.A.P. Barnard Collection. 1834-2000. Publications by and material related to Frederick Augustus Porter Barnard, chancellor of UM from 1856 to 1861 and president of Columbia University. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00519/ (2 boxes).

Board of Trustees Reports and Minutes Collection. 1848-1992. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00524/ (15 boxes).

Edward C. Boynton Collection. Circa 1856-1861. Glass plate negative images of UM campus. The collection has been digitized and is available in the University Archives Photographs digital collection.

Richard C. Bridges Collection.  1861-1864.  A student at UM in 1861, Richard C. Bridges became a Confederate soldier in the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company A known as "the University Greys."  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM01789/ (1 box).  Collection available as part of the Civil War Archive digital collection. 

 Catalogue of the Officers, Alumni and Students of the University of Mississippi, at Oxford, Mississippi. 1854-1860. Call Number: LD3408 U55.

Classbooks from 1861. Contains images compiled in 1861 of the faculty, students, and campus. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00542/ (1 box). The collection has been digitized and is available in the University Archives Photographs digital collection.

Alexander M. Clayton.  Address Delivered at the First Annual Commencement of the University of Mississippi by Hon. Alexander M. Clayton, President of the Board of Trustees.  Also Address Delivered on the Same Occasion by Albert Taylor Bledsoe, A.M. Professor of Mathematics Etc., and Acting President of the University.  July Twelfth, 1849.  Call Number:  LD3417.2 1849.

Alexander M. Clayton.  Commencement Address by The Hon. Alexander M. Clayton, LL.D., Read Before the Law-Students of the University of Mississippi, on the 16th Day of June, 1860.  Oxford, MS:  1860.  Call Number:  LD3417.2 1860l.

Commencement Collection. 1854-present. Programs primarily but also includes some invitations, articles, and speeches. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00543/ (8 boxes).

Jefferson Davis.  Address, Delivered by Hon. Jefferson Davis, before the Phi Sigma & Hermean Societies of the University of Mississippi Oxford, July 15, 1852.  Memphis:  Appeal Book and Job Office Print, 1852.  Call Number:  LD3416.2 D3.

Diploma and Certificate Collection. 1850-1950. Contains a number of diplomas and certificates conferred by UM and other institutions. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00107/.

Faculty Minutes & Committees Collection. 1848-1995. Faculty minutes from 1848 to 1874; minutes of general faculty meetings from 1933 to 1945; minutes of Faculty Senate and its committees from 1946 to 1995. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00554/ (14 boxes). 

Elijah Fleming Collection. Twenty-three daguerreotype images of UM faculty and students circa 1859. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00665/ (1 box). The collection has been digitized and is available in the University Archives Photographs digital collection.

Gage Family Collection. 1830-1937. Includes Civil War correspondence of Jeremiah Sanders Gage, a member of the University Greys (Company A of the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment). Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00196/ (3 boxes). This collection has been digitized as part of the Civil War Archive.

Graduating/Senior Theses Collection. 1858-1937. Handwritten and typed theses prepared by graduating and senior UM students. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00564/ (8 boxes).

William Franklin Hamilton Autograph Book. 1859-1860. A Carrollton, Mississippi resident, Hamilton graduated from UM in 1860. The autograph book contains inscribed entries by friends and a record of UM alumni. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00567/ (1 box).

Hermean/Phi Sigma Societies Collection. 1849-1934. Pins, programs, invitations, and minutes of these two UM debate clubs. Finding aids available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00568/ (5 boxes).  

E.W. Hilgard Papers. 1856-1872. Transcriptions of correspondence largely from F.A.P. Barnard to Eugene Woldemar Hilgard. Barnard served as chancellor of UM from 1856 to 1861. Hilgard was appointed Mississippi state geologist in 1855 and served as professor of chemistry and agriculture at UM between 1869 and 1873. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00569/ (1 box).

Frank W. Keyes.  An Address Delivered before the Alumni Association of the University of Mississippi, on the 5th Day of July, 1859.  Oxford, MS:  1859.  Call Number:  LD3412.45 K4.

Longstreet-Hinton Family Papers. 1844-1955. Augustus Baldwin Longstreet served as president of UM between 1849 and 1856. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00276/ (3 boxes).

Mississippi University Magazine. 1856-1877. Published by the Literary Societies. Continued as University of Mississippi Magazine. Call Number: LH1 M7 U5ma.

Thomas A. Moore Keepsake Album. 1858-1861. From Issaquena County, Mississippi, Moore graduated from UM in 1861. Album contains inscriptions from fellow students (1 box).

William Cowper Nelson Collection. 1843-1949. A student at UM when the Civil War broke, Nelson joined the 9th Mississippi Infantry Regiment and later the 17th Mississippi Infantry Regiment. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00688/ (11 boxes). This collection has been digitized as part of the Civil War Archive.

The Phi Sigma Magazine. 1856-1857. Call Number: LH1 M7 U5p.

Ann Rayburn Collection of Paper Americana. 1858-1997. Box 1 includes essays by and correspondence to Evan Jeffries Shelby, a UM student in 1861 who died in 1864 while serving in the Confederate States Army.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00380/ (84 boxes).

Registrar Ledgers. 1848-1921. Contain attendance records, grades, and vital statistics of students attending UM, as well as several faculty committee minutes. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00605/ (13 boxes).

Rules and Regulations of the University of Mississippi Collection. 1850-1911. 1 box. See also, catalogued holdings at LD3400.5 M5.

David G. Sansing Collection. 1840-1999. David G. Sansing is the author of The University of Mississippi: A Sesquicentennial History (1999). The collections contains his research files for the book. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00402/ (10 boxes).

William L. Sharkey.  Commencement Address Delivered before the Law Students of the University of Mississippi, on the 5th Day of July, 1859.  Oxford, MS:  1859.  Call Number:  LD3417.2 1859l.

Small Manuscripts 1986-1. 1860 letter from H.M. Rice to his father describing his experiences as a new student at UM (Folder 15).

William F. Stearns Collection. 1837-1993. Contains correspondence, lectures, legal materials, and other items related to the life of UM's first law professor William F. Stearns. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00430/ (2 boxes).

Andrew Baron Stewart Autograph Album. 1861. Album of Andrew Baron Stewart in the University of Mississippi Class of 1861. Transcription available in finding aid which is online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00619/ (1 box).

Jacob Thompson and George Frederick Holmes.  Address, Delivered on Occaision of the Opening of the University of the State of Mississippi:  In Behalf of the Board of Trustees, November 6, 1848 by Hon. Jacob Thompson, M.C.  Inaugural Address, Delivered on the Occasion of the Opening of the University of the State of Mississippi, November 6, 1848 by George Fred'k Holmes, A.M., President of the University.  Memphis:  Franklin Book and Job Office, 1849.  Call Number:  LB41 T5.

University of Mississippi.  Record of the Testimony and Proceedings, in the Matter of the Investigation, by the Trustees of the University of Mississippi, on the 1st and 2nd of March, 1860, of the Charges made by H.R. Branham, Against the Chancellor of the University.  Jackson, MS:  Mississippi Office, 1860.  Call Number:  LD3405.8 A16.

University of Mississippi Small Manuscripts. Includes material on academic and administrative departments; alumni; athletics; budget & finance; faculty & staff; Greek organizations; other organizations and honor socities; publications; speakers & speeches; student life; and the University Greys. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM01771/ (49 boxes).